06
Oct
08

Security Consulting

I have been giving my career path a lot of thought lately and I realized for a few reasons that I am not going to run a branding agency.

The second biggest reason is that I don’t think branding is going to continue to be a big force in the market (or at least not as big a force as it is now).

The biggest reason is more personal. I realized that in my life there was really one field that I excelled in. Several years ago I worked for a call centre as the head of security (physical). It was a fairly short term job, the site had failed to meet an ISO 9001 audit twice. The auditing body worked on a three strikes your out rule… in other words they would not evaluate a fourth time in a given year. Should the call centre have failed this audit they would have lost their largest client (a US based financial institution). Under my direction the site finally passed the audit. During that time I also successfully ran several investigations, upgraded the overall security apparatus of the site and developed a robust series of security protocols.

It probably helps that in my younger years many of my peers were criminals (and I may have dabbled a bit in those spheres myself)

I have also on many occasions been in charge of IT security for companies. This is due to extensive experience as a network admin.

So, I as of today I am taking on security consulting contracts. I know how to secure physical locations for anything from shoplifters to a full scale siege. I know how to provide sane and intelligent policies toward network security, both to defeat electronic attacks and the more common (but far more dangerous) social engineering style attacks. Most importantly I am security minded. I look at systems from a standpoint of how they can be exploited… that allows me to close those exploits. It is important to keep in mind that security is always a trade off and that too much security is in fact self defeating, but I am good at finding that balance, the point of maximum benefit with minimum inconvenience.

If you are interested, drop me an e-mail or call me at 902-471-6077. I have an initial site done up at http://www.seditionbrand.com but it is a bit bare bones for now.

2 Responses to “Security Consulting”


  1. February 10, 2011 at 3:15 am

    I am looking at starting a security consulting firm. I was wondering if you had any advice, resources, literature, etc. that could help. I would GREATLY appreciate it. I have about 15 years of experience between military & federal security, but none as an actual business owner. So I am very curious about pricing, contracts, staffing, etc. I would very much appreciate your knowledge and experience, especially from someone young like myself and hoping to start in the same profession. =)

    Many thanks,

    Richard-


Leave a Reply

